Cannibal Corpse Collection

2 products

Showing 1 - 2 of 2 products

Cannibal Corpse is considered one of the most contentious and influential death metal bands of all time. The band was formed in 1988 and was known for its throaty vocals, furious blast beats, and very violent lyrics. The band also used splatter-horror imagery and sordid song titles.

Surprisingly, the band’s unrepentant and ghoulish aesthetic had earned them a rabid cult following. Their EPs Torture, Gore Obsessed, and Violence Unimagined helped make them one of the top-selling death metal acts of all time. The band was formed in Buffalo, New York.

The band lineup includes Chris Barnes (vocals), Jack Owen (guitar), Bob Rusay (guitar), Paul Mazurkiewicz (drums), and Alex Webster (bass). While they are considered closest to Slayer in terms of sound, other extreme metal bands like Death also influenced their sound.

Metal Blade Records released Eaten Back to Life, the band’s debut album, in 1990. The band was able to further build a solid cult following with the release of their albums Butchered at Birth and Tomb of the Mutilated. Rusay was fired in 1993 and was replaced by Rob Barrett.

In 1994, the band released The Bleeding, which was Barnes’ final album. Their 1996 release, Vile, featured the voice of ex-Monstrosity vocalist George “Corpsegrinder” Fisher. The band released another album in 1998 called Gallery of Suicide. A year later, they released Bloodthirst.

Live Cannibalism, their first concert video, was released in 2000. In 2002, they released Gore Obsessed, followed by The Wretched Spawn. Evisceration Plague, their highest-charting album, was released in 2009 and was produced by Erik Rutan of Hate Eternal.

The video single Code of Slashers was issued in September. In addition to his production duties, Erik Rutan joined the band officially as the new guitarist. Rutan made his studio debut in the uncompromising album Violence Unimagined, which was released in 2021.