Despised Icon Collection

3 products

Showing 1 - 3 of 3 products

Despised Icon are Montreal-based band that combines fury and precision in their unique brand of hyper-technical deathcore. Flawless blast-beat drumming and contrasting dual vocalists were two of the defining elements that made the band stand out from their peers.

The band was formed in January of 2002 and was able to release their first album by the end of that year. Consumed By Your Poison, their first album, was released through Galy Records. Unfortunately, the band experienced a few setbacks the following year, including an unexpected change in their lineup.

By 2004, the band was able to bounce back with a new lineup composed of dual vocalists Alexandre Erian and Steve Marois, guitarists Eric Jarrin and Yannick St-Amand, drummer Alex Pelletier and bassist Sebastien Piche. Their next highly anticipated release, Syndicated Murderers, was a self-financed EP.

A relentless tour schedule helped the band get a contract with Century Media Records. Their second full-length album, The Healing Process, was released in 2005. Despised Icon released another album in 2007. Ills of Modern Man made it to number 28 on the Billboard Top Heatseekers Chart thanks to the single, In the Arms of Perdition.

In 2009, the band released Day of Mourning. The band received positive reviews because of the hard-hitting single MVP. Unfortunately, the group decided to disband the following year to focus more on their families. In 2014, the band announced they would reunite and do some shows later that spring.

After more performances in 2015, the band announced they were heading back to the studio and had inked a deal with Nuclear Blast. In 2016, Despised Icon released Beast. The band went on a lengthy U.S. tour to celebrate Day of Mourning’s tenth-year anniversary. They also released Purgatory, their sixth full-length album, the same year.