Amon Amarth Collection

30 products

Showing 25 - 30 of 30 products

Sweden’s Amon Amarth is one of the most consistent and respected bands in the melodic death scene. The band, formed in the early 90s, combined Viking lore and history with Scandinavian death metal. Amon Amarth broke into the mainstream in 2008 with the release of Twilight of the Thunder God, their seventh LP.

Twilight of the Thunder God was a commercial success at home and abroad and paved the way for other subsequent hits, including Berserker, Deceiver of the Gods, and the Great Heathen Army. The group’s original lineup included Olavi Mikkonen, Petri Tarvainen, Paul Makitalo, and Vesa Merilainen.

Years later, a new lineup was created with Johan Hegg replacing vocalist Paul Makitalo. Anders Hansson and Mikkonen played guitars, Niko Kaukinen took over the drum duties, and Ted Lundstrom was the designated bass player. The band recorded Thor Arise, their first demo, in 1993.

Once Sent from the Golden Hall, the band’s 1998 full-length album helped cement their reputation as a force to be reckoned with in the death metal community. Their album Crusher was released in 2001 and was followed by Versus the World. The latter had a bottom-heavy and more measured style.

Another album, Fate of Norns, was released in 2004, followed by With Oden on Our Side, which was released in 2006. Their most commercially successful and critically acclaimed release to date was Twilight of the Thunder God. In 2011, they released Surtur Rising, their eighth studio album.

To support the album, they embarked on a world tour with metal luminaries Ensiferum and Children of Bodom, among others. Deceiver of the Gods was released in 2013 and featured an appearance by Messiah Marcolin, the former Candlemass vocalist. In June 2022, the band announced the release of The Great Heathen Army.

They also released a music video for one of the songs in the album, Get in the Ring. The song was written especially for pro wrestler Erick Redbeard, who also starred in the video. Andy Sneap produced the nine-track album, which showcased a renewed focus on crushing death metal.